Become a Member

About Us

Our Mission

The 7 Rivers Alliance is a regional leadership group that boosts economic growth by fostering collaboration in western Wisconsin, southeast Minnesota, and northeast Iowa.

We are persistent and consistent advocates for keeping communication open and developing regional networks in the Upper Mississippi Valley through regional meetings and networking events.

The 7 Rivers Alliance brings together public and private resources to forge entrepreneurial growth and serves as a clearinghouse of vital information to enhance quality of life in the region.

7 Rivers Video

Sponsored by: Riverland Energy Cooperative, Tri-County Electric, Jackson Electric, Oakdale Electric, Vernon Electric, Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical


The 7 Rivers Alliance was created by the entrepreneurial spirit that lives in the 7 Rivers Region. Area leaders understood the connection that exists between the natural beauty and recreational opportunities in the region and the way in which it inspires leaders to launch and grow businesses. It is this connection to the natural beauty of the region that drives our love and loyalty to the area.

7 Rivers Alliance business leaders learned early on that good things happen to their businesses when they surround themselves with clusters of companies with similar and complimentary expertise. They share knowledge and people that help grow existing businesses and launch new ones. Some of our leaders, quite naturally, pursue and build careers elsewhere, but are often drawn back to the 7 Rivers Region to begin new entrepreneurial dreams or return to help other existing business clusters.

Our Board of Directors consists of the region's top business leaders. They understand the importance of investing their time and their company resources to attract like businesses to the region to collaborate and help each other learn, grow and build upon the natural loyalty to the area.

The 7 Rivers Alliance took root in 1999, when the Technology Business Alliance (TBA), led by WWTC (now Western Technical College), began addressing technology development opportunities in the La Crosse/Southeast Minnesota region.

Nineteen organizations contributed seed money to match a Department of Administration (DOA) grant to build technology capacity in our area. A feasibility study led to the proposal of a membership-based alliance of public and private organizations to coordinate and support technology growth activities.

In 2001 the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, the La Crosse Tribune, and several other organizations contributed funds for market research to develop the "7 Rivers Region" brand as a rallying point for regional collaboration.

The region was awarded Wisconsin Technology Zone status in 2003, an effort coordinated by the La Crosse Area Development Corporation (LADCO) with the Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission (MRRPC) and the UW-La Crosse Small Business Development Center (SBDC).

The 7 Rivers Alliance named our first Board of Directors in 2004 and adopted our bylaws in 2005. The following year, the United Coulee Region, a former partner organization dedicated to government collaboration, dissolved and donated their fund balances to the 7 Rivers Alliance.

Recently, the 7 Rivers Alliance took over the convening role for Eco-Devo, a group uniting economic development professionals in the 7 Rivers Region for economic prosperity through networking, sharing information, cluster development, and for grant writing purposes.